Wednesday, August 31, 2011

Dinah Shore

The only thing I can remember about Dinah Shore is that she had a talk show in the 1970s.

She had several shows, actually. I think the one I remember was "Dinah!"

She also sang this:
See the USA in your Chevrolet 
America is asking you to call 
Drive your Chevrolet through the USA 
America’s the greatest land of all. 

She had a house in Palm Springs. It's really cool. Visit here.

Tuesday, August 30, 2011

Cathedral City Fountain


This is where children play during the day. Temperatures are hoovering near 115 degrees in the afternoons these days

Friday, August 26, 2011

Leon's Bar and Grill Closing


The fabulous restaurant and gathering places in Indian Canyons is being handed over to the Agua Caliente tribe.

Speculate about what the tribes are planning to do with it by commenting.

Thursday, August 25, 2011

Thursday, August 18, 2011

Canyon


Old film still of the "Canyon" an apartment (?) complex in the south side of the city.

Fun Painting at Street Fair


This guy always seems to have a crowd around him at Thursday night's street fair in downtown Palm Springs.

Sunday, August 14, 2011

Palm Springs Pink Poodle


Palm Springs Animal Shelter to open in September. Here's the much talked about pink poodle statue in front of the modern structure.

Thursday, August 11, 2011

Wednesday, August 10, 2011

Sunday, August 7, 2011

Sizzling Desert


Desert landscape as seen from North Palm Springs. Humidity's gone down, but it's still hot, although it's bearable in the mornings.

Saturday, August 6, 2011

Jack Benny House


If you're under 50, you probably don't know who Jack Benny was.

The most memorable Jack Benny trait is that he was eternally 39. Benny lived close to where he worked--a two minute walk to the studio where he broadcasted his radio show from the El Mirador Hotel.

Wednesday, August 3, 2011

Frank Sinatra's Gravesite


Here lies Frank Sinatra in Cat City (5 miles east of Palm Springs).

Photograph from here.