Wednesday, March 31, 2010

Woman with Big Bun



Woman with big bun spotted at California Pizza Kitchen downtown. Thought about doing a book about women's buns. Quite a play on words...

Saturday, March 27, 2010

Massage at Street Fair



Business is brisk at the massage booth at the street fair last Thursday night.

Friday, March 26, 2010

Aspen Mills



This is the owner of Aspen Mills Bakery, a great place to get fresh bread in Palm Springs.

Thursday, March 25, 2010

Tuesday, March 23, 2010

Liberace's Pets



It's been a long time since this flaming piano virtuoso has died, over 2 decades. Gee, how time flies.

Liberace had a home in Palm Springs.

Monday, March 22, 2010

Sunday, March 21, 2010

Tuesday, March 16, 2010

Ann Miller Called Palm Springs Home



She was often called Legs Miller and you can see why in this photograph. She lived in Old Las Palmas.

Monday, March 15, 2010

Shopping Carts Behind Ralphs



How's shopping carts for art? Add a little text about meat and I've got yourself an art party.

Sunday, March 14, 2010

Saturday, March 13, 2010

Downtown Band



Last year there used to be a band that played in downtown Palm Springs on weekends. Anyone know if it's still there this year?

Friday, March 12, 2010

The Work Never Stops



The work never seems to stop on South Palm Canyon near Murry Canyon Drive. It seems as though the construction workers have been working in that wash forever. What in the heck are they doing?

I'm afraid to ask.

Thursday, March 11, 2010

Wednesday, March 10, 2010

Kaufman House



You have to love this house. It's the Kaufman House in Palm Springs. Richard Neutra designed it. The house, which was built in 1948, has gone through many renovations. If it were to be sold today, the cost would be well over 10 million. It's one of the most important mid-century modern landmarks in the world, and I ride my bike by it every day.

Monday, March 8, 2010

Disco Balls in Palm Springs



You gotta just love a business that replaces a light fixture with a disco ball.

I love the night life, I gotta boogie on the disco-round.

Thursday, March 4, 2010

Car Auction



Semi that was filled with antique cars in front of Mccormick's Exotic Car Auctions. Two cars remained by the time I got the shot.

Wednesday, March 3, 2010

Grocery Store War



Palm Springs is in the midst of a grocery store war. The competition among all the new stores that have sprung up is fierce.

The battle to keep the Vons open in Palm Springs Mall has been lost. It closed just as the Fresh and Easy is about to open a block away.

Tuesday, March 2, 2010

Monday, March 1, 2010